National Food Security Mission to have Rs. 25550 Crore in XII Plan

National Food Security Mission

Rs. 25550.00 crores (USD 4.6 billion) has been proposed under the National Food Security Mission (NFSM) for the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17). The government will continue the NFSM but with some modifications.

According to the press release, the revamped version will forge linkages with all concerned in implementation of crop production activities which have a direct bearing on enhancing and stabilizing crop production. “NFSM revisions will focus attention on identified crops following a location specific, targets oriented production strategy.” 


The NFSM was proposed and operationalized in 2007. The program is subordinate to the Union Agriculture Ministry and has its own General Council (GC) to review progress and development of the scheme. The GC is empowered to allocate resources across states and districts and approve projects per the requirements of the mission. The GC body is required to meet twice a year.

On the state end, governments are required to create autonomous agencies registered under the Societies Registration Act to implement the NFSM and receive the associated funds. Other smaller administrative bodies like the Panchayati Raj Institutions will also be eligible to receive benefits from the mission and will administer benefits directly.

In order to check the use of funds, funds will flow in installments and be regulated based upon progress reports submitted by monitoring teams.

During 2012-13, NFSM is implemented with three components namely NFSM-Rice, NFSM-Wheat and NFSM-Pulses. In the XII Plan, coarse cereal and fodder are also proposed to be included. NFSM-Rice is implemented in 210 districts of 24 States viz. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, NFSM-Wheat is implemented in 166 districts of 12 States viz. Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal, NFSM-Pulses is implemented 468 districts of 16 States viz. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. Thus, in all NFSM is implemented in 27 States of the Country.

For more information see the NFSM Guideliness (2009) here


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s